Complete history of Indonesian provinces is available at following link:

Till 2003 Indonesia had 29 provinces which increased to 33 in 2004. Some of
the recent changes in province boundaries are:

1- A portion of South Sumatra was split to form Banka-Belitung province in 2000.

2- A portion of West java was split to form Banten in 2000.

3- South Sulawesi was split to form West Sulawesi in 2004.

Rest of the provinces we interested in are unchanged. GIS map that we have got is for the year 2000.

Esther Ebrahimian, Sep. 2005